Maria Loram
Bringing the joy of learning back to every student
Full-Time, Professional Tutor with 10 Years of Experience
Beset by intense curiosity since before I can remember, I always dive into new subjects myself and inspire others to do the same! Tutoring imparts my love of learning to others: I love seeing the light come in my students' eyes when they really understand something that they'd been struggling with.

Whether it's a language that you want to learn or the "foreign language" of math you want to master I'm excited to help take you to the next level!
Maria Loram
  • Major: Russian and Computational Linguistics

  • Lomonosov Moscow State University (#1 Ranked University in Russia)

  • GPA: 4.0/4.0 (Valedictorian, Summa Cum Laude)

  • President’s Award for Excellence

  • Full Tuition, Room & Board Scholarship

I tutor more than 30 subjects regularly to students who range from 8 to 58 years old. (I once counted and the total number of subjects I've ever tutored was 87!) I take great pride in my work and in delivering you nothing but the best results. I do this by structuring engaging, personally tailored lessons that help utilize your strengths to cover from any holes in your knowledge, and in allowing you to reach your full potential. I bring a deep knowledge of the subjects at hand and make the process engaging and, dare I say, even fun!

  • Since tutoring is my full-time occupation, I am both flexible and reliable. Your emergency is my emergency.

  • I tailor my tutoring sessions to match each student's needs, style, and pace.

  • I have a lot of experience working with people with learning differences, from ADHD and dyslexia to motivational issues.

  • My students find my enthusiasm for learning contagious, my feedback helpful, and my teaching methods effective. In so doing, grades and understanding improve in tandem.
  • Mathematics
    I love teaching math in all its forms and levels (elementary mathematics, prealgebra, algebra I, algebra II, pre-calculus, trigonometry, geometry, and even the mathematical parts of physics). I work both with Common Core, and programs like Singapore Math, AoPS, Beast Academy, and the like.
  • Science
    I teach virtually all middle and high school science classes from physics and chemistry to biology and psychology. I'm a pop-science nerd which helps a lot in teaching: in my spare time I'm consumed by the ideas of neuroscience and black holes, I watch lectures on astrobiology, and take genetics for fun at the local community colleges.
  • Linguistics
    Having majored in Computational Linguistics and Russian language, I have a strong base in general and applied linguistics. I teach multiple levels and types of linguistics, from the intro into linguistics and speech synthesis (for example, USC Ling 285) to graduate level of Phonetics and Syntax. I also offer NACLO and other linguistics olympiads prep.
  • Languages
    I love both teaching and learning languages. I've tried learning more than 8 languages although currently remember only 5 (Russian, English, Spanish, Latin, and French). I teach elementary Spanish and French. I also work with all levels of Russian and high school Latin (including AP Latin, NLE, and NME).
  • English
    I started my career as a tutor by getting TESOL training and teaching English as a foreign language (ESL/ESOL) for years. Now I also help people with the grammar part of their high school English class and occasionally assist in writing essays for English or any other class (be it History, Mythology, or Literary Criticism).
  • Standardized Tests
    ACT, SAT, IELTS, TOEFL, GRE: you name it; I do it. I've always enjoyed teaching standardized tests, since they involve both learning the material and the strategies necessary to crush the test. I'm great at identifying knowledge gaps and timing issues.
  • Online
    If you reside in the LA area, I offer in-person tutoring that allows me to work closely with students to understand their unique learning needs and challenges. In-person tutoring provides students with the opportunity to receive real-time feedback and guidance, and to engage in interactive and dynamic learning experiences that are tailored to their specific goals.
  • Face-to-Face
    In addition to in-person tutoring, I also offer online tutoring that provides the convenience and flexibility of learning from anywhere. Online tutoring allows students to receive the same personalized attention and support as in-person tutoring, while also offering the added benefits of scheduling flexibility and the ability to learn from the comfort of their own homes. As a special offer, I provide a 15% discount for my online tutoring services to help make them even more accessible to students.
  • Group Tutoring
    If you or your kid prefer to study with friends, I offer group tutoring sessions for up to 7 people. Group tutoring provides a collaborative learning environment that allows students to learn from each other, while also providing a more affordable option for students who are looking for high-quality tutoring services. I charge an extra $50 per person for group tutoring sessions.
My Projects
  • Ceramics
    As a beginner ceramics and pottery artist, I am exploring different techniques and forms to discover my personal style. Inspired by the philosophy of wabi-sabi and the simplicity of Buddhism, I am drawn to creating functional art objects that are both aesthetically pleasing and practical. Through my work, I hope to capture the beauty of imperfection and the natural world, using earthy tones and textures to evoke a sense of peace and serenity.
  • Podcast
    I have my own podcast (in Russian) about career issues and the process of self-discovery. I interview professionals from across the world and help elucidate career paths for current undergrads to follow.
  • Blog
    I'm an avid traveller (42 countries and counting) and had always wanted to upload my pictures somewhere. My blog seemed like an appropriate place to do so!

Pasadena, CA, 91106